.:. in and out of season .:.

Whatever Our Differences… November 5, 2008

Filed under: chicago,life in general,Uncategorized — Ellen @ 8:49 pm

I went to sleep last night talking a mile a minute to my sleepy husband about all of my thoughts, recaps, reactions and responses to yesterday.  We had a twenty-three hour day yesterday, having woken up at 4 to be polling place administrators all day, and then deciding very last minute, at the coaxing of Brent, to go along with them to the rally.

Oh yes, and I should also add, for the sake of honesty, that neither Nat nor I voted.  I, thinking that I was in the right precinct/ward even though we moved, discovered too late that I was wrong, plus my name change is still in a weird in-between stage, and Nat I think just forgot, or was misinformed about the dates.

I have really been back and forth on this one, though.  I thoroughly disliked McCain’s demeanor in the debates, based on what I saw as a lack of character, dignity, and an inability to guard his tongue.  (Obviously Sir Biden may share the latter weakness, but in a more lovable way – it seems.)  Plus, I was bewildered about his policies, having gathered that whatever he thought he was, he knew he was against Obama, and made that crystal clear.

I was drawn to Obama’s passion for the lower and middle class, to his charisma, to his economical stance, and the idea of universal health coverage.  I was interested to discover that both he and McCain supported the death penalty, and are similar when it comes to illegal immigration.

And then the issue of abortion came up, and I, never to view this as a make-or-break for me (in the very simplified pro-life/pro-choice regard) was suddenly very disturbed.  Here are some quotes from The Public Discource (and I would recommend the entire article) that I read a while ago…

Barack Obama is the most extreme pro-abortion candidate ever to seek the office of President of the United States. He is the most extreme pro-abortion member of the United States Senate. Indeed, he is the most extreme pro-abortion legislator ever to serve in either house of the United States Congress.

He has promised to sign the Freedom of Choice Act (known as FOCA). This proposed legislation would create a federally guaranteed “fundamental right” to abortion through all nine months of pregnancy, including, as Cardinal Justin Rigali of Philadelphia has noted in a statement condemning the proposed Act, “a right to abort a fully developed child in the final weeks for undefined ‘health’ reasons.” In essence, FOCA would abolish virtually every existing state and federal limitation on abortion, including parental consent and notification laws for minors, state and federal funding restrictions on abortion, and conscience protections for pro-life citizens working in the health-care industry-protections against being forced to participate in the practice of abortion or else lose their jobs.

Obama, unlike even many “pro-choice” legislators, opposed the ban on partial-birth abortions when he served in the Illinois legislature and condemned the Supreme Court decision that upheld legislation banning this heinous practice. He has referred to a baby conceived inadvertently by a young woman as a “punishment” that she should not endure.

Appallingly, he wishes to strip federal funding from pro-life crisis pregnancy centers that provide alternatives to abortion for pregnant women in need. There is certainly nothing “pro-choice” about that.

Senator Obama, despite the urging of pro-life members of his own party, has not endorsed or offered support for the Pregnant Women Support Act, the signature bill of Democrats for Life, meant to reduce abortions by providing assistance for women facing crisis pregnancies. In fact, Obama has opposed key provisions of the Act, including providing coverage of unborn children in the State Children’s Health Insurance Program (S-CHIP), and informed consent for women about the effects of abortion and the gestational age of their child.

In an act of breathtaking injustice which the Obama campaign lied about until critics produced documentary proof of what he had done, as an Illinois state senator Obama opposed legislation to protect children who are born alive, either as a result of an abortionist’s unsuccessful effort to kill them in the womb, or by the deliberate delivery of the baby prior to viability.

Ok, that is enough… the rest can be read on the website, and the blue underlined words are links that can’t be followed from my blog, but are worth checking out as well.  People describe his “pro-choice stance on abortion” as “liberal” and I can’t help but think “murderous” a better word.  I am surprised by his extremity on this point, and it makes me speculate about why on earth he would be so very passionate about it.

Back to yesterday… we went to the rally, and got there and into the crowd a few minutes before they announced that Obama had won Virginia.  I HAD to go to the bathroom, so we ran to the porta potties, and I will never forget bursting out of that smelly thing and sprinting back toward our friends as the crowd went crazy and the announcer said, “BARACK OBAMA IS THE FORTY-FOURTH PRESIDENT OF THE UNITED STATES!!”  We were so caught up in all of the excitement, everyone around us was screaming, hugging, high-fiving… The vast diversity of the crowd was striking… lots of different skin, turbans, dreads, everything…  Nat lifted me onto his shoulders so I could see and take pictures.  It was astounding to be part of such an overjoyed, relieved, HOPEful blend of a crowd.  It felt HUGE, breathtaking, of herculean importance, to be there experiencing it. I should get out a thesaurus to help me communicate.

I was deeply impressed with McCain’s concession speech.  It was dignified, gracious, noble and well-spoken.

“I urge all Americans who supported me to join me in not just congratulating him but offering our next president our goodwill and earnest effort to find ways to come together.”

I covered my ears when everyone booed Sarah Palin.  I felt like she could hear it, and I didn’t like it.  Unqualified, irritating, fine… I think maybe she should just stick to Alaska and being a good mom to her kids, and I feel sorry for her.

And in all of the excitement and joy around us I also felt a little wary.  I hope that he is a good president.  I whispered a little prayer that God would help him, that all of this hope that people are feeling would be realized in changing of things that truly need it, that I was glad that this country has come so far to have someone who isn’t white be our leader…

It felt like a parade, walking back.  Thousands upon thousands of people in the streets cheering crazily.  It wasn’t the messy, maybe-a-little-scary crowd that it could have been with so many people.

We will see, as always.  And… although a little wary of, I am hopeful too, for Barack Obama .  I am relieved that my true hope, trust and faith is in the Lord, who is the Healer, who cares for people of all kinds, who loved us first, and who alone can save us.

Hopefully,

Ellen

Oh! and here is another great article: http://www.relevantmagazine.com/life_article.php?id=7630

 

Leave a Reply

