.:. in and out of season .:.

Yeah, Starbucks! September 12, 2008

Filed under: Uncategorized — Ellen @ 9:51 pm

Almost.

Had an interview today with Guy – the manager at the Roscoe Village Starbucks.  One of the coolest stores – lots of exposed brick, an old red telephone booth, a bar, comfy booths… pleasepleaseplease.

And he was nice, and I was impressed by how professional and responsible he was.  I think I would like to work there, but other people are applying (as Gary would say: “obvioust.”) and one must not get their hopes too far up there in such a situation.  I did tell him about how I’ve thought it would be such a cool place to work since high school, and how touched and impressed I was that Starbucks customers of Laurie’s went to her funeral.

It will be a celebration indeed when I am employed!

Until then, I have been having a good, productive time at home.  I have been baking a lot of bread – first blueberry, then zucchini, and then yesterday two loaves of Oatmeal bread, which I gorged myself on this morning.  A woman at Swedish Covenant who knows Nat would like to buy a loaf oy my zucchini bread, bless her heart.

Dinner has been our favorite time of day lately.  I set the table beforehand so when he comes home it is all set up and pretty.  We just unpacked all of our Tokheim Stoneware a few days ago, and there is something so homey and… I don’t know… true. feeling about serving food on those homemade, rustic and beautiful pottery pieces.  And SWEDISH. True and Swedish.  We have been reading a verse or two of the Bible before we pray and eat, and that is a beautiful ritual I hope continues forever.

I want/don’t want to start running again.  Gosh… I’ve been saying that every month since October 2005.  Geeze.  Just get on with it!

I’m falling more in love with Friday daily, so I might have to recant my offer of giving her away.  Also meaning we might have to sneak her into our new apartment, and therefore need to teach her not to wail-meow at various ungodly hours.

We watched PS. I Love You last night, which we liked.  Sad… and cute.  I can’t remember every seeing Hilary Swank in anything before, but I enjoyed her acting, and her outfits.  A subscription to Netflix was a GREAT wedding gift to us, and we are loving it.

“Mattie told him what her therapist had said once, that you should go only as fast as the slowest part of you could go.”  – Anne Lamott, Blue Shoe

 

One Response to “Yeah, Starbucks!”

  1. Amanda Says:

    Isn’t married dinner nice?? I agree wholeheartedly. “Obvioust”. “P.S. I Love You” was one of the last good new movies I saw, if you don’t count the kiddie ones I saw: Wall-E and Horton Hears A Who. It broke my heart, though.

    Bake me bread, plz!


Leave a Reply

