.:. in and out of season .:.

Caribou Yoo Hoo June 24, 2008

Filed under: Uncategorized — Ellen @ 10:00 pm

Nat and I have been biking/exercising like crazy the past few days.  We got 7-day passes to LifeTime Fitness, and went there yesterday to go on a tour, and then worked out a lot after that.  Nat is the best workout partner in the world, I think, because he is so in shape and fit without even trying, or exercising regularly (i wish…) and he also is really knowledgeable about what exercises do what, great weight lifting things for the flabby arm-parts – – he is patient.  We went in this room intended for dance classes where one other woman was doing yoga by herself.  It was all dark, cool, mirror-lined, and really peaceful.  We just stretched and did some situps, pushups, etc… It was remarkably peaceful and wonderful.  I would love to take a yoga class someday to know how to relax my body like that.  

So now, we rode our bikes to the post office to drop off thank-you notes from the shower on Sunday, and are now curled up at Caribou in our own laptop worlds.  I’m apartment hunting on Craigslist, writing here, and thinking about where to work.  Nat is transferring money around from my account to his, to our school loans, to our honeymoon fund, from our wedding fund… and also thinking about where to work.  

It’s fun to be in Wheaton in the summer… the last time I was home for the summer was the summer after 7th grade.  It’s neat to see how many people I still know here, and fun to bump into people everywhere.  I could see us being so comfortable here, and happy… but we don’t want to lose sight of how we ultimately want to live our lives.  We want to live simply – truly simply.   Unencumbered by comparison, clutter, expensive unnecessaries, etc… Not at all to say that can’t be accomplished here – but it is pretty expensive to live around here and the real reason is… I’m not sure I could have the budgeting, frugal willpower to do it.  Who knows.  Luckily, at the rate we are going we will have no choice but to live simply for how poor we will be.  

= )  I also can love the idea of simplicity sometimes more than I am actually dedicated to the realities of what it means to live it.  

Truth be told, I love the guy sitting next to me far more than I know what to do with.  To the point of distraction, obsession, utter infatuation.  And, I am learning the miraculous truth that the more I seek to be obedient to God, the better fiancee I am.  The more I spend time praying and the more I ask God to give me humility, patience, wisdom – He does.  I know that I must love Him more than I love <– him, so that I can love <– him with a true, pure love.  

 

Thank goodness for such a good Heavenly Father. 

 

 

Here we are!here we are!

 

2 Responses to “Caribou Yoo Hoo”

  1. Yoga is the best – you would love it. And I miss it.

  2. kristine Says:

    thanks thanks thanks. i miss our pseudo yoga/pilates/dance classes in the living room.

    can’t wait to fly out!

    enjoyed the last post. talk to you soooooon


Leave a Reply

