.:. in and out of season .:.

Stream of Consciousness – For Kristine, mostly. = ) June 19, 2008

Filed under: Uncategorized — Ellen @ 4:41 am

Elisabeth and I went to Ann Taylor Loft on Sunday and found THE bridesmaids dresses!  Hallelujah, and a-men.  They are adorable – cranberry/pomegranate red, cute cute cute, and with pockets, which are my favorite.  I think I might buy one for myself. 

However, now I am second, third and fourth guessing my own dress… We’re going to go shopping again.  Maybe I’ll find the “perfect” one, or maybe I will realize how much I do love this one.  How bridezilla of me… They tell me that if I don’t love it, it’s not right.  However, it feels rather fickle of myself that I did love it, and now don’t.  Huh. 

I’ve also become a psuedo-vegetarian after reading a chapter in a book that I don’t recommend, and hence won’t disclose, given the foul mouth of the authors… but it described in too-vivid detail for my imagination the horrors that animals can go through while they are being turned into meat.  I haven’t done any real research on this topic, although I’ve heard it discussed many times… but the descriptions pop into my head!  I think their plan worked, to gross everyone out enough that they’ll stop eating meat.  What a smart convincing strategy. 

My basement room is a complete – COMPLETE – disaster.  I could blame it on the fact that this is a pretty big life-turnover, and that everything needs to be sorted… but I could also blame it on the more truthful fact that I get hopelessly distracted while going through each box, which leads me to a different box, to a different pile, to a different album, book, drawer of clothes, container of knick knacks – you name it.  I have all these wonderful visions of being really clean when Nat and I get married… and I really am devoted to doing that, but then sometimes I wonder, “WHERE on earth will I be pulling that from, because I certainly don’t have those habits now…?”  Sheer, devoted love?  Sheer, stubborn willpower?  I’ll let you know.  I think we’ll need to invest in some mighty organizational boxes, and make a system. 

I have been reminded of the blessings of old friendships, here at home.  It is something I have wanted to write about since coming back home, but have been hesitant because I don’t want to make too many comparisons between ‘here’ and ‘there’.  However, it has been profoundly true that coming home, coming back to all the friends and family here, has been all that it was cracked to be, and more.  It feels like no time has passed, like not all that much needs catching up on, like relationships are pretty much the same.  I am grateful for that, and humbled. 

Anyway.  Kristine – I love you so much.  Thank you for reading my silly little blog, and asking for more.  = ) 

It has to be said… I can’t wait for our wedding!!!  Please come sooner, please please please………….

 

One Response to “Stream of Consciousness – For Kristine, mostly. = )”

  1. bayleeknowelle Says:

    Bah! Yay! You wrote something else. I was waiting for an update on the beautiful life of yours. You really amaze me, Ellen. From my view it just seems that everything you do is so pure and beautiful and genuine, and I am jealous of that. I don’t know how I can get to that point; but I am proud of you for finding that sort of peace.

    P.S. I started a blog, too. You inspired me:
    bayleeknowelle.wordpress.com


Leave a Reply

